The ECM group is part of the Physics Department of the University of Antwerp
We investigate a range of topics in Condensed Matter Physics such as high-spin molecular compounds, point defects in wide bandgap materials, electrooptical and nonlinear optical molecules, materials for organic electronics including photovoltaics,  carbon nanotubes and crystalline  nanostructures. State-of-the art instrumentation is available for CW and pulsed EPR in the X-band (9.5GHz) and W-band (95GHz), high-sensitivity fluorescence, raman scattering, and pulsed laser experiments for time-resolved optical spectroscopy and nonlinear optics.
Part of this instrumentation is shared with the SIBAC (Spectroscopy in Biophysics and Catalysis) group of Prof. Sabine Van Doorslaer.